Kelly Manufacturing

North Dakota Ag News Headlines
North Dakota Leopold Conservation Award Seeks Nominees
North Dakota Ag Connection - 01/11/2021

Are you a North Dakota rancher, farmer or forestland owner who improves soil health, water quality and wildlife habitat on your working land? Apply for the 2021 North Dakota Leopold Conservation Award.

Sand County Foundation presents the Leopold Conservation Award to private landowners in 22 states for extraordinary achievement in voluntary conservation. In North Dakota, the $10,000 award is presented with national sponsor American Farmland Trust, and state partners: North Dakota Grazing Lands Coalition, North Dakota Association of Soil Conservation Districts and the North Dakota Stockmen's Association.

Given in honor of renowned conservationist Aldo Leopold, the award recognizes landowners who inspire others with their dedication to land, water and wildlife habitat management on private, working land. In his influential 1949 book, "A Sand County Almanac," Leopold called for an ethical relationship between people and the land they own and manage.

"Recipients of this award are real life examples of conservation-minded agriculture," said Kevin McAleese, Sand County Foundation President and Chief Executive Officer. "These hard-working families are essential to our environment, food system and rural economy."

"As the national sponsor for Sand County Foundation's Leopold Conservation Award, American Farmland Trust celebrates the hard work and dedication of farmers, ranchers and forestland owners," said John Piotti, AFT president and CEO. "At AFT we believe that conservation in agriculture requires a focus on the land, the practices and the people and this award recognizes the integral role of all three."

Nominations may be submitted on behalf of a landowner, or landowners may nominate themselves. The application can be found at

The application deadline is April 15. Applications can be emailed to by April 15.

Applications are reviewed by an independent panel of agricultural and conservation leaders.

The 2020 recipient of the award was the Dockter-Jensen Ranch of Denhoff in Sheridan County. For more information on the award, visit

Other North Dakota Headlines
Sheah Auguers/SD Ellenbecker
Copyright © 2021 - All Rights Reserved.